LUSH Shower Gels- Heaven in a Bottle

Image

Rose Jam shower gel and Dirty Springwash shower gel

Rose Jam shower gel was the first LUSH product I tried and I knew right from the get-go that I was hooked. I bought the Dirty Springwash shower gel for the boyfriend shortly after and though it was for him, I find myself reaching for this occasionally too. Like most LUSH products, the shower gels are a little on the pricey side but they are SO worth it!

Rose Jam, whose main ingredient is Rose Absolute from Turkey (the distillation process uses chemical solvent and is very time consuming with small yield, hence the steep price tag), obviously smells like roses. The smell makes me think of the little flower-shaped soaps my Grandma kept in her bathroom in the 1990’s. It’s a rich, dreamy old fashioned rose smell but with a super sweet, tangy punch too. If you’re reading this and thinking, “Yuck, that doesn’t sound good,” I can assure you I initially thought it would be old-lady-floral-headache-in-a-bottle too. Boy was I was wrong. I keep using the word tangy but it’s so appropriate. It’s sweet jam +tangy goji berry + vintage rose and it’s totally amazing. Seriously. It’s a bit on the heavy side though so if you don’t like big scents, this may not be for you. I had never used or worn any floral scents before, but I’m in love. I’ve since purchased LUSH’s Rose Jam Bubbleroon, Rose Queen Bath Bomb, Amandopondo Bath Bomb (though rose isn’t in the name, it contains rose absolute), Rose Jam Perfume, and Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner. So more rose scented products will be reviewed in the future!

Now, moving past the amazing scent of Rose Jam shower gel, the best part is that it contains Argan Oil. I’ll link to the Wiki page on Argan Oil here. Argan Oil has a ton of different uses but its popularity in cosmetics and skin care has taken off in the last several years thanks to Josie Maran. Anyway, Argan oil is phenomenal for skin and hair as a moisturizer because it’s packed with vitamins and antioxidants. This shower gel lathers like a dream- a little goes a very long way- and afterwards you feel clean and moisturized. I’m not a fan of soaps that leave my body feeling tight and dry but I also don’t like the other extreme of super moisturizing gels that leave me feeling greasy or not clean. This is the perfect happy medium. Your skin will love you and the scent will make you happy, leaving you feeling like a glamorous vintage movie star. I will never go back to regular soap if I can help it.

Image

Rose Jam shower gel ingredients

Image

Here’s a picture of the consistency- basically just right.

Image

The only bad news is that Rose Jam shower gel is a limited edition item, so get some now before it disappears at Christmas! I’m sure LUSH had a ton of success with this product since they released the also limited edition perfume version of the scent, but there’s no telling if it will be back. I used my entire 3.3 oz bottle so I bought two of the 16.9 oz bottles. I don’t want to get crazy and take my stock for granted so I’m going to keep refilling my tiny bottle and just keep that in the shower. I feel like if I see a huge bottle sitting in the shower I’ll just be like, “Great, I have a ton of this. Let me just smell awesome. *puts way too much on bath pouf*” Instead with the little bottle it’ll be, “Wow, this is my tiny little bottle that I’ve allotted myself for the next month or two, let me savor this.” So there is my OCD logic. 3.3 oz for $10.95, 8.4 oz for 19.95, and 16.9 oz for $29.95. Like I said, a little goes a very long way, so I see these bottles lasting quite a while.

Image

Here’s a picture for size reference. 3.3 oz on left, 8.4 oz in middle, 16.9 on right.

Now for the Dirty Springwash shower gel. My boyfriend has to wear a Kevlar vest for his job (with an undershirt beneath it and a uniform shirt above), so needless to say things can get a little… ripe. I got this shower gel for him as a splurge. He also was getting dry skin from the super harsh “man soap” bar he was using, but was too stubborn to admit it was because the soap was caustic and that he needed to moisturize if he continued with that stuff. Yuck. So I guess I was also trying to solve his dry skin without telling him haha. He loves this stuff and so do I when I feel really sweaty and gross. Sometimes I just feel too dirty for Rose Jam (like after working out) and I reach for this. It also has a great consistency and a little goes a long way. The main scent component is spearmint oil and it’s divine! Ladies don’t be intimidated by a minty body wash. I thought this would be too manly for me but it’s not, it’s just a pleasant minty fragrance after you get out of the shower. Unisex in my humble opinion. It kind of tingles on your skin in the shower so you feel really clean afterwards. We both really like it so I foresee buying the largest bottle in the future. 3.3 oz for $9.95, 8.8 oz for $18.95, and 16.9 oz for $28.95.

Image

Dirty Springwash shower gel ingredients

What shower gels have you tried? What is your favorite?

5 thoughts on “LUSH Shower Gels- Heaven in a Bottle

  1. I’ll have to try the Dirty Springwash! I really really love Rose Jam, but I’ve actually never bought any. The smell is amazing though. I tried a lot of their rose-scented products and I’d have to say that the Rose Jame Bubbleroon is my favorite and I’m sure that the shower gel would be too. I just have so much shower gel and soap that I need to use up before I feel okay with purchasing a bottle! Haha maybe I will during their boxing day sale! 😉

    • Yeah, shower gel and soap are so easy to stockpile! The “Well, I’ll use it eventually” logic never fails. I keep hearing amazing things about the boxing day sale, I’m so excited to see for myself!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Rose Jam Shower Gel | Lush Reviews

  3. Pingback: Rose Jam Shower Gel by Lets Review Lush | Makeup, Music & Lifestyle.

Leave a comment